New waders/boots

Everyone loves a good fish story!
Talk techniques, experiences , gear, etc
catskilljohn

New waders/boots

Post by catskilljohn » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:46 am

I am looking to replace my waders and boots this spring. There was a lot of buzz about felt bottomed boots [which I really like] and the transmitting of evasive matter to various watersheds. I never really felt that fishermen were the problem, and it seems to me that if this didymo was as bad as everyone thought it was, all our streams would have been ruined by now. I still bleach my boots after fishing regardless of where I go, if for no other reason than just to keep them clean.

Anyway, a few questions...

How long do a pair of waders last you guys? Boots too? I have been splashing around in streams for 11 years, and am on my 4th pair of waders. I am not overly hard on my stuff, although I do move a lot and fish rugged areas, lots of clambering over boulders and fallen trees. I am very conscious of brambles, and go out of my way to not bushwack through heavy areas.

So how do you feel about the felt vs rubber soles? Felt grips pretty good, and have heard the rubber ones are slippery?

I am always interested in what others use. CJ
"Gentlemen,remove your hats,this is it"
"This is where the trout was invented?"
"Oh he existed in a crude,primitive form in Waltons England"
"But this is where they painted spots on him and taught him to swim"

BrownBear

Re: New waders/boots

Post by BrownBear » Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:05 am