Please be kind, I have yet to fish the Catskill waters!

Everyone loves a good fish story!
Talk techniques, experiences , gear, etc
troutbum40

Please be kind, I have yet to fish the Catskill waters!

Post by troutbum40 »

Hey, I have been making the trip out to the Roscoe area for many years now and yes... I hate to say I have yet to fish the waters of the area! More to do with not sure were to fish and lack of willing fishing partners to show me the better spots {don't even need to know the secret "honey holes"}. Here's my question, Where should a person like myself start to fish in the area and have a better than average chance of catching a few fish? ;) And I practice" Catch & Release" only fishing!

skondolf

Re: Please be kind, I have yet to fish the Catskill waters!

Post by skondolf »

I'm probably not one to "offer advice" as I'm a relative newbie to fishing the Catskills. I don't live too near them so I don't get down there near enough. But I'll offer a few pointers.

First, if you're talking about fishing this time of year I wouldn't even consider the freestone streams. The Willow and Beaverkill are too low and warm to fish. I can't comment on the Esopus or Neversink as I've never fished them. I'm guessing you'd have to consider fishing either the East Branch or West Branch Delaware.

Places to fish? Anywhere you can get to the water. there's tons of info on the web if you do a little searching and many parking locations with public access. I doubt there's too many secrets left on these streams as they're so popular and heavily fished and what secrets there may still be are going to stay that way I'm sure. I've done pretty well in the past on the EB along Rt 30 up to Downsville. Many people swear by the WB but me personally I usually swear AT the WB.